Certified payroll requirements by state

One table for all 50 states and DC: state law, threshold, where payroll goes, how often, and the state DOT system. Federal rules come from 40 U.S.C. 3142 and 29 CFR 5.5; each rule in the table links to the page it was read from, where one could be read.

Last reviewed against the sources it cites

The short answer

By this page's count, 25 states have a state prevailing wage law, Colorado, Tennessee and Vermont have a partial one, and none was found in 22 states and DC; Nebraska and DC are judgment calls explained below. Federal Davis-Bacon applies on covered federal work in every state and on DC's own construction contracts. Where payroll goes, how often and which DOT system takes it differ by state, so check the table, then your contract.

  • Federal certified payroll is weekly on work covered by Davis-Bacon or its related acts in any state, under 29 CFR 5.5(a)(3)(ii).
  • New York sends payroll to the state labor department's online Certified Payroll portal every 30 days on Article 8 public work, except work by or for New York City and NYC-permitted roadway excavation, which goes to the NYC online database.
  • Texas has a prevailing wage chapter, Government Code chapter 2258, with no payroll filing requirement found in it.
  • On Illinois Department of Transportation federal-aid contracts on the state letting (April 24, 2026 letting on) where the Illinois rate equals or exceeds the federal rate, an IDOT provision effective April 1, 2026 calls for a monthly filing to the IDOL portal and a weekly filing to IDOT in LCPtracker Pro; the contract decides.

Rules change, and the contract and the agency control. This page records what the pages linked in the table said when read on November 4, 2026; a few cells link nothing and say why. The awarding agency decides what you submit, where and when; confirm with it before you rely on a cell.

Which states have a prevailing wage law, and where does the payroll go?

Of the 50 states and DC, 25 states have a state prevailing wage law, marked Yes in the table. 22 states have none found: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia and Wisconsin. 3 states (Colorado, Tennessee and Vermont) have a partial one, so 28 states have some state rule. Mississippi's place in that count rests on one archived table (see its row), and Nebraska and DC are judgment calls (see Judgment calls). The Department of Labor's older state table differs on Michigan and Nebraska, and in detail on DC and Tennessee, as explained under Where sources disagree.

Federal Davis-Bacon applies on covered federal work in every state. 40 U.S.C. 3142(a) says the advertised specifications for every construction, alteration or repair contract over $2,000 "to which the Federal Government or the District of Columbia is a party", for public buildings and public works located in a State or DC, must state the minimum wages. DC's own construction contracts are therefore Davis-Bacon contracts by statute, with no federal funding needed. The related acts carry the same standards to federally assisted construction. On covered work the contractor submits certified payrolls weekly (29 CFR 5.5(a)(3)(ii)).

The channel for state payroll differs by state. Of the 28 states with a full or partial law, nine send payroll to a state labor agency, fourteen to the awarding or contracting agency, and five (Montana, Texas, Vermont, Virginia and Wyoming) show no routine state payroll filing in the sources read.

Every state and DC in one table

State names link to our page for that state where one exists. "Not stated" means the pages read did not say, which is not a finding that no rule exists; "Not read" means the agency's pages refused the check.

StateState lawThresholdWhere state payroll goesHow oftenState DOT system
AlabamaNo, repealed 1980 (2021 state manual)No state law or filingFederally funded contracts only: paper to the ALDOT project manager, weekly; no system named
AlaskaYes, AS 36.05Over $25,000State Wage and Hour office; online, mail or hand delivery; every second week, no later than FridayAASHTOWare Project (AWP)
ArizonaNo, state law bars requiring it (A.R.S. 34-321); Attorney General Opinion I23-004 (2023) reads A.R.S. 23-364(I) as exempting cities, counties and towns from that bar, so a city may require it on its own public works. The opinion describes a Phoenix ordinance for city contracts over $250,000 that the council repealed on April 19, 2023. Other cities were not checkedNo state law or filingADOT Certified Payroll System (LCPtracker), weekly, on federally funded contracts
ArkansasNo, repealed 2017No state law (Act 1068 of 2017 repealed it), so no state filingNone named; electronic payroll allowed
CaliforniaYes, Lab. Code 1771Over $1,000; eCPR and registration not required at $25,000 or less ($15,000 maintenance). DIR eCPR portal; legacy programs such as Caltrans and qualifying PLAs exemptAt least once every 30 days, or more often if the contract says; Caltrans checklist: weekly or by the 15thCaltrans: LCPtracker
ColoradoPartial, C.R.S. 24-92-201 to 210 (state agency projects)State agency contracts of $500,000 or more; federally funded and local projects excluded. Part 2 does not apply to CDOT, but a CDOT contractor must pay Davis-Bacon wages on any CDOT public project, whatever the funding (24-92-202(2))LCPtracker, run by the Office of the State Architect; contracting state agency reviews; weekly per the Office of the State Architect; statute says monthlyLCPtracker (CDOT)
ConnecticutYes, Gen. Stat. 31-53$1,000,000 or more new construction; $100,000 or more remodeling, alteration or repair. Monthly to the contracting agency (a state agency or town), to the Department of Economic and Community Development on projects it funds, or to the developer of a covered project (31-53d)AASHTOWare Project (AWP)
DelawareYes, 29 Del. C. 6960Over $500,000 new; over $45,000 alteration or repair; only where the State appropriated any part of the fundsState Dept. of Labor; mailed or delivered on the notarized Payroll Report form (email acceptance not stated); weekly, within one week of the last work day coveredDelDOT Unifier Submittals, on federally funded projects (D8.02)
District of ColumbiaNo public works prevailing wage law found in D.C. Code Title 32; D.C. Law 25-274 covers only gas and electric company underground utility contracts and is marked Not Funded. DC-let construction contracts still carry Davis-Bacon terms (40 U.S.C. 3142(a))No DC prevailing wage law found, so no DC filing or schedule. DC-let construction contracts over $2,000: weekly certified payroll under 29 CFR 5.5(a)(3)(ii), sent to the agency or owner the contract namesDDOT payroll help pages; system not named
FloridaNo, state law bars requiring it (Fla. Stat. 255.0992)No state law or filingFederally assisted contracts over $2,000 only: no portal named; to the FDOT resident compliance specialist, weekly
GeorgiaNo, none foundNo state law or filingOn federal-aid highway contracts: an undated GDOT notice announces AASHTOWare Project CRLMS to replace its manual payroll process; live status not read
HawaiiYes, HRS ch. 104Over $2,000. Contracting agency (state or county); no state portal stated; weeklyNone named on HDOT pages
IdahoNo, none found; 44-1001 is a residency ruleNo state law found in the Public Works chapter, so no state filingNone named; certified copy of each weekly payroll on federal-aid work (2023 spec book)
IllinoisYes, 820 ILCS 130None stated; all public worksIDOL online portal; a State agency may opt to take payrolls directly and send them to IDOL within 10 days; the IDOL FAQ says "If your contract mentions 'Davis-Bacon', you do not need to submit certified payroll to the department". That line can be wrong on federal-aid work; see Where sources disagree and read your contractMonthly, by the 15th, for months with constructionIDOT state-letting federal-aid contracts (provision effective Apr. 1, 2026, for the Apr. 24, 2026 letting on; the contract decides): weekly in LCPtracker Pro; where the IDOL rate equals or exceeds the federal rate, also the monthly IDOL portal filing
IndianaNo, repealed 2015; IC 5-16-7.2-5 bars public agencies from requiring a wage scale unless federal or state law provides otherwise, and the chapter excludes INDOT contracts governed by IC 8-23-9 (5-16-7.2-1(b))No state filing under a statute; INDOT contracts require electronic payroll, weekly; an INDOT state-funded contract has a $20.00 hourly floor (spec 103.07(c)). The spec cites IC 8-23-9-22, which has no dollar figure: a state-highway bid's laborer rate may not be below the department's common-labor rateCPMS in the ITAP portal (2019 memo)
IowaNo, none found in the Iowa Code Title III chapter list (labor chapters 84A to 97)No state law or filingIowa DOT guidance for local-agency projects (Attachment D to I.M. 6.000, May 30, 2025): Form 830176 to the project engineer, or Doc Express; weekly when contract provisions state that a certified transcript of weekly payroll is required
KansasNo, ch. 44 index lists noneNo state law or filingNone named; federal-aid contracts only: weekly under the FHWA-1273 clause
KentuckyNo, repealed 2017No state filing; a KYTC memo dated May 2015, before the 2017 repeal, asked for state-funded payrolls only on request, and current practice was not readFederal-aid projects: WH-347 to the KYTC section engineer (May 2015 memo); no system named
LouisianaNo, repealed 1988No state law or filingAASHTOWare Project Civil Rights and Labor, on federally funded highway contracts
MaineYes, 26 MRSA ch. 15State-funded, $50,000 or more; also "assisted projects" (energy projects of 2 megawatts or more with state certifications or other state economic assistance, bids from Jan. 1, 2023), with no dollar floor in 1304(1-A); the statute does not say whether the under $10,000 exclusion in 1304(2) reaches themA copy to the public authority that let the contract or to the State agency providing economic assistance to the assisted project; monthly per statute; DOL page (copyright 2016) says each payroll periodElation Systems (federal-aid Davis-Bacon contracts)
MarylandYes, State Fin. and Proc. 17-201 et seq.$250,000 or moreCommissioner of Labor and Industry, online portal; within 14 days after each payroll periodNone named in the 2026 SHA specs
MassachusettsYes, M.G.L. c. 149, ss. 26 to 27HNone stated in ss. 26 to 27BAwarding authority, by first class mail or email; weekly certified records; signed statement within 15 days after its work is doneNot read (MassDOT pages refused access)
MichiganYes, 2023 PA 10 (MCL 408.1101); includes energy facility projectsNone stated; work state-sponsored or financed in part, and energy facility projects (solar, storage or wind of 2 megawatts or more), with no state-funding testOnline payroll database kept by the commissioner, required one year after 408.1102a took effect on Apr. 2, 2025, so about April 2, 2026 (live status not verified); the contracting agent before then; within 10 days after each pay period. Exempt: state project payroll already required to go to the state transportation department; routine energy facility maintenance or repair (408.1122(6))LCPtracker (MDOT, federal-aid)
MinnesotaYes, Minn. Stat. 177.41 to 177.44Not covered under $2,500 (one trade) or $25,000 (more than one trade)Contracting agency; labor dept. may demand copiesWithin 14 days after each pay period per statute; DLI page says every two weeksAASHTOWare Project CRL (MnDOT)
MississippiNo, per the U.S. Department of Labor's archived state table (revised Jan. 1, 2023), the one source for this cellNo state filing found. FHWA-1273 (revised June 25, 2026): weekly to the contracting agency the contract namesNone named; no MDOT system was read. An MDOT proposal (Nov. 2025) has only the federal clause
MissouriYes, RSMo 290.210 to 290.340Over $75,000 total project costContracting public body; no state portal found; monthly per state rule; MoDOT: weeklyMoDOT: signed digital payroll to the resident engineer; system not named
MontanaYes, MCA 18-2-401 et seq.Over $25,000After a wage complaint is filed, the labor dept. may require certified payroll copies, due within 5 days of its request; no routine filing statedAASHTOWare Project CRL (MDT)
NebraskaNo (73-102 bid statement and contract clause that fair labor standards be maintained, with a closing proviso; 73-103 bid disqualification; 73-104 defines those standards as the wage scale paid by at least 50 percent of the contractors in the same field)No state payroll filing in the sections readNone named (undated NDOT page); federal-aid projects only: WH-347 emailed to the NDOT project manager within 7 days after payment, weekly
NevadaYes, NRS ch. 338Over $100,000. Awarding public body; Labor Commissioner on request; monthly, due 15 days after month end; report for a month with no workLCPtracker (NDOT)
New HampshireNo, RSA ch. 280 repealed 1985No state law or filingNot read (NHDOT pages refused access)
New JerseyYes, N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.25 et seq.$19,375 for municipal contracts (from July 1, 2024); $2,000 for other public bodies. NJ Wage Hub (online) and the awarding public body, both; each payroll period, within 10 days of paymentNJDOT bulletin BDC24S-20 (Jan. 28, 2025): weekly to the Resident Engineer, and on state-funded contracts also uploaded to NJ Wage Hub; on federal-aid contracts, Equal Pay Act information and (per Attachment 7) Form MW-562 reports go to NJ Wage Hub
New MexicoYes, NMSA 13-4-11 (HB 6, 2025)Over $60,000Contracting agency; labor dept. director within 10 business days of a request; monthly to the agencyLCPtracker (NMDOT)
New YorkYes, Labor Law Art. 8None stated for Article 8 public workNYS DOL Certified Payroll portal; NYC public work: NYC database; every 30 daysNYSDOT deck (undated): payrolls weekly or each pay period, on HC-231-1 or WH-347; no system named
North CarolinaNo, per NC Dept. of LaborNo state law or filingAASHTOWare CRL being set up (2024 deck); live status not stated
North DakotaNo, none foundNo state filing; NDDOT does not require weekly payrolls on state-funded-only contractsLCPtracker, federal-aid work, weekly
OhioYes, ORC ch. 4115Buildings over $250,000 new, $75,000 repair; roads and sewers over $101,201 new, $30,320 repair (page dated April 21, 2021). The Commerce 2026 quick reference lists the same figures, roads and sewers as of January 1, 2026. Payroll goes to the public authority's Prevailing Wage Coordinator, who obtains a certified payroll report from each contractor (2022 guide). The state portal page read is a project-registration form and does not say whether it takes payrollFirst report within 2 weeks, then weekly (jobs under 4 months) or monthly (longer), per a 2022 guideAASHTOWare Project CRL (ODOT)
OklahomaNo, held unconstitutional 1995No state law or filingNone named; weekly to the ODOT Residency on most federal-aid contracts, received within two weeks of period end. Exempt: contracts with only Local Road or Rural Minor Collector projects (ODOT number with a D); one non-exempt project makes all need payroll (April 18, 2016 directive)
OregonYes, ORS 279C.800 to 279C.870Over $50,000 contract price, with public agency funds (279C.810(2)). Also projects using $750,000 or more of public agency funds (279C.800(6)(a)(B)); public-body solar installations, with or without public funds and with no $50,000 floor (D); and work on public university land, with or without public funds but over $50,000 (E)Public agency on the project; no state portal stated; monthly, by the fifth business day of the next monthNone named for contractors; ODOT manual (July 2, 2025): to the Resident Engineer office. Doc Express and a Z03 Certified Payroll drawer appear only for the agency's wage estimating file
PennsylvaniaYes, Act 442 of 1961Over $25,000; local highway and bridge over $100,000Contracting public body; sworn statement; weekly, plus a final statementPennDOT Project Collaboration Center (PPCC), plus the forms to the District Executive within 7 days after the regular payment date (Pub. 408, 107.22(c))
Rhode IslandYes, R.I. Gen. Laws ch. 37-13Over $1,000 with state or municipal fundsAwarding authority on the labor dept. form, monthly; labor dept. within 10 days of a request; one form per week of work, per the regulationNone named
South CarolinaNo, none foundNo state law or filingFederally funded contracts only: hard copy to the SCDOT resident engineer, weekly; no portal (April 2023 guide)
South DakotaNo, none in SDCL Title 5 or Title 60SDDOT highway construction contracts: $2,000 or more federal funds, or $100,000 or more state funds. SDDOT, online; weekly on covered highway contractsElation Systems EPSS (lettings from June 5, 2019)
TennesseePartial, Tenn. Code 12-4-401 to 415 (state highway work only; 2014 agency copy)None stated; state highway construction contractsContracting state agency, which passes it to the Prevailing Wage Commission; weeklyAASHTOWare Project CRL (a TDOT page lists payrolls among its uses); another TDOT page still says it anticipates CRL payroll functionality in Spring 2021
TexasYes, Gov't Code ch. 2258None stated; public works paid wholly or partly from public funds. No payroll filing requirement found in ch. 2258; 2258.024 requires a wage record open to inspection by the public body. The wage duty excludes maintenance work (2258.021(b)) and work a public utility company does directly under a public authority's order (2258.002(b))Not statedLCPtracker, mandatory on TxDOT construction projects from the August 2017 letting; for maintenance or facilities contracts the undated FAQ answers "Not at this time"
UtahNo, state law bars requiring it (34-30-14)No state filing; contractors and subcontractors on public work keep wage records open to inspectionUDOT Certified Payroll System (UDOT contractor page); its manual, a Google Drive file, says eComply, weekly, on federally funded projects with notice to proceed from Dec. 1, 2024
VermontPartial, 29 V.S.A. 161 (161(b) does not apply to Agency of Transportation or Forests, Parks and Recreation projects, 161(d))Three categories (161(b)): a State project over $100,000; a construction project over $200,000 authorized and at least 50 percent funded by a capital construction act; a construction project over $200,000 at least 50 percent funded by the Cash Fund for Capital and Essential InvestmentsNo state filing in the statute. On VTrans work the VTrans checklist calls for weekly Davis-Bacon certified payrolls, due within 7 calendar days after the regular payment date, through Doc Express, CMS or email as the contract checks
VirginiaYes, Va. Code 2.2-4321.3 (state agencies; localities by ordinance; covered institutions, D)Over $250,000 for state agencies and localities (N); covered institutions: contracts initiated after July 1, 2027 valued at $5 million or more (D)No periodic payroll filing. To the Dept. of Labor and Industry, by email, fax or mail: the sworn pay scale once on award, and the posting certification within 10 days of posting; payroll records within 10 days of a request (2.2-4321.3(J))AASHTOWare Project CRL (VDOT), weekly, on federally assisted construction contracts
WashingtonYes, ch. 39.12 RCWNo minimum dollar amount for small projects; on contracts over $10,000 the contractor posts the approved statement of intent at the jobsiteL&I online system; at least monthlyL&I PWIA (WSDOT specifications 1-07.9(5)): payrolls weekly on federal-aid projects, at least monthly on state-funded ones
West VirginiaNo, art. 21-5A repealed 2016No prevailing wage filing. Local-hire rule 21-1C-5(b), which still cites the repealed article 5A: certified payrolls or comparable documents to the Division of Labor, projects of $500,000 or more without federal fundsNone named; WVDOH posts Form WH-347
WisconsinNo, repealed 2017No state law or filingCRCS (before the Jan. 14, 2025 letting) or AWP CRL; weekly
WyomingYes, W.S. 27-4-401 to 413$100,000 or more estimated cost; state public bodies only (27-4-402(a)(vi)). No state filing; records open to inspectionNot statedWYDOT iCX Construction Management System

How to read the table

State law: Yes, No or Partial

Yes means a state statute sets prevailing wage for public works; some cover only state-funded work, and Wyoming's covers only state public bodies. Partial means part of them: Colorado (state agency projects), Tennessee (state highway construction) and Vermont (29 V.S.A. 161(b) contracts, other than Agency of Transportation and Forests, Parks and Recreation work). No means none was found, it was repealed or struck down, or, in Arizona, Florida, Indiana and Utah, state law bars requiring one (see the Arizona and Indiana rows). "None found" is a finding from absence in a code index or chapter list, not a citation to a repeal: Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, North Dakota, South Carolina and South Dakota.

Threshold, channel, schedule and DOT system

States measure the threshold differently (project cost, contract price), so read the cell before comparing. On Davis-Bacon work, weekly certified payrolls go to the federal agency if it is a party to the contract, otherwise to the owner or other entity that maintains the records, for transmission to the agency (29 CFR 5.5(a)(3)(ii)(A)). Where a cell gives two schedules, the contract decides. The last column is the system the state DOT lists for payroll on its own contracts, often only on federal-aid work; "None named" means the DOT pages read name no system.

Where sources disagree

A cell shows both sources where two disagree on a schedule. Other conflicts are below.

  • Alaska. The transportation department says AASHTOWare Project meets federal and state payroll requirements; the labor department checklist sends payroll to its Wage and Hour office. Neither says whether one submission covers both.
  • Illinois. There are two conflicts. First, the text of Section 5 still says to file monthly with the public body until the Department of Labor activates its database, while its portal page directs filing to the portal. Second, the Department's undated certified payroll FAQ says a contract that mentions Davis-Bacon needs no filing with the department. That conflicts with an IDOT special provision that federal-aid contracts on the state letting carry from the April 24, 2026 letting on (effective April 1, 2026). Where the Illinois rate equals or exceeds the federal rate, it requires a certified payroll to the IDOL portal by the 15th of each month and also one to IDOT each week in LCPtracker Pro. The Department's FAQ on federal projects (HB 1189) also says to upload payroll to the portal when Illinois rates apply. Read your contract before you skip the monthly IDOL filing on a federal job.
  • Thresholds in Connecticut, Maryland and Virginia. Connecticut's labor department rate-request page tests for project cost over $100,000; the statute sets $1,000,000 for new construction. The Maryland SHA specification cites $500,000 or more for state wage terms; the statute says $250,000. Virginia's Department of Labor and Industry page says the law applies at $250,000 or more; the statute exempts contracts of $250,000 or less (2.2-4321.3(N)). The table follows the statute in all three.
  • Nebraska. The NDOT page says payrolls are due within 7 days after payment; the 2017 NDOT specification book lets NDOT withhold partial payments if payrolls are not in within 14 days of the payroll ending date.
  • Washington. The WSDOT wage rates page points federal-aid projects to U.S. Department of Labor guidance; the WSDOT standard specifications route all certified payrolls through the L&I PWIA system, weekly on federal-aid projects and at least monthly on state-funded ones.

Judgment calls

Michigan. The U.S. Department of Labor's state table (revised January 1, 2023, archived copy) lists Michigan as without a law and notes a 2018 repeal. The table counts Michigan as Yes because 2023 PA 10 took effect February 13, 2024 and was amended effective April 2, 2025. MDOT's own wiki, last edited August 27, 2026, says MDOT contracts funded solely by the State carry no wage decision or prevailing wage requirement, while MCL 408.1101(l) defines a state project to include state-financed highways, roads and bridges. On a state-only MDOT job, check the contract for a wage decision and ask the MDOT project office.

Nebraska. The same Department of Labor table lists Nebraska with a law and no threshold. The sections in the Nebraska row set no rates and call for no payroll filing, so this table counts it No. But 73-104 defines fair labor standards as the wage scale and conditions paid by at least 50 percent of the contractors in the same field, and 73-102 has public works contracts carry that standard unless the authority sets its own terms for hours, pay and conditions. Counting that going-wage test as a prevailing wage standard would make Nebraska Yes and the counts 26 Yes and 21 No.

District of Columbia. The table counts DC as No because no DC prevailing wage law was found, a separate question from Davis-Bacon. DC's own construction contracts over $2,000 carry Davis-Bacon terms under 40 U.S.C. 3142(a). D.C. Law 25-274 sets a wage only for underground utility work that a gas or electric company awards to a contractor over $250,000, and applies only once its fiscal effect is in an approved budget (section 8). The Code marks the chapter Not Funded; whether that has changed was not verified.

Other differences from the Department of Labor table. It lists DC at $100,000 for a living wage requirement, not a prevailing wage law. It lists Tennessee at $50,000 for highway construction only; the agency's copy of the act and the Commission rules state no $50,000 figure.

Pages that did not load

The official Texas statutes site returns only a script shell, so the Texas cells link chapter 2258 on the legislature's text server. The Illinois IDOT link is a Word file. The Vermont link is a January 2026 archived copy of an unofficial legislature page. California statutes were read on a public mirror; the links go to the official text.

We prepare certified payroll for public works contractors. Tell us about your project.

Questions

Which states have no prevailing wage law?
No state prevailing wage statute was found in 22 states (named above) or DC, though DC's own construction contracts over $2,000 carry Davis-Bacon terms under 40 U.S.C. 3142(a). Nebraska and DC are judgment calls, explained above.
If my state has no law, can I still be asked for certified payroll?
Yes, on federal and federal-aid work, and in DC on construction contracts the DC government lets. 29 CFR 5.5(a)(3)(ii) calls for weekly certified payrolls on Davis-Bacon work, and FHWA-1273 is the set of provisions federal-aid construction contracts carry.
Is the dollar threshold the same in every state?
No. The lines run from $1,000 in California and Rhode Island up to $1,000,000 for Connecticut new construction, and $5 million for Virginia covered institutions on contracts initiated after July 1, 2027. Seven states show no dollar floor in the sources read. Check your contract.
Which payroll systems do state DOTs use?
The last column names LCPtracker for 9 states, AASHTOWare Project for 9, and Elation Systems for Maine and South Dakota. Nine more name other systems, Georgia and North Carolina list AASHTOWare as announced or being set up, and the rest name none or were not read. Your contract names the system that applies.

Sources

Every figure on this page links to its source where it first appears. The full list, in order:

  1. 40 U.S.C. 3142 govinfo.gov
  2. 29 CFR 5.5 ecfr.gov
  3. Certified Payroll portal dol.ny.gov
  4. Government Code chapter 2258 tcss.legis.texas.gov
  5. IDOT provision effective April 1, 2026 apps1.dot.illinois.gov
  6. Department of Labor's older state table web.archive.org
  7. federally assisted construction ecfr.gov
  8. No, repealed 1980 (2021 state manual) adeca.alabama.gov
  9. Federally funded contracts only: paper to the ALDOT project manager, weekly; no system named aldot.gov
  10. Yes, AS 36.05 akleg.gov
  11. Over $25,000 akleg.gov
  12. State Wage and Hour office; online, mail or hand delivery; every second week, no later than Friday labor.alaska.gov
  13. AASHTOWare Project (AWP) dot.alaska.gov
  14. No, state law bars requiring it (A.R.S. 34-321) azleg.gov
  15. Attorney General Opinion I23-004 azag.gov
  16. ADOT Certified Payroll System (LCPtracker), weekly, on federally funded contracts utracs.azdot.gov
  17. No, repealed 2017 arkleg.state.ar.us
  18. None named; electronic payroll allowed media.ark.org
  19. Yes, Lab. Code 1771 leginfo.legislature.ca.gov
  20. Over $1,000; eCPR and registration not required at $25,000 or less ($15,000 maintenance). DIR eCPR portal; legacy programs such as Caltrans and qualifying PLAs exempt dir.ca.gov
  21. At least once every 30 days, or more often if the contract says leginfo.legislature.ca.gov
  22. ; Caltrans checklist: weekly or by the 15th dot.ca.gov
  23. Partial, C.R.S. 24-92-201 to 210 (state agency projects) leg.colorado.gov
  24. LCPtracker, run by the Office of the State Architect; contracting state agency reviews; weekly per the Office of the State Architect osa.colorado.gov
  25. LCPtracker (CDOT) codot.gov
  26. Yes, Gen. Stat. 31-53 cga.ct.gov
  27. AASHTOWare Project (AWP) portal.ct.gov
  28. Yes, 29 Del. C. 6960 delcode.delaware.gov
  29. State Dept. of Labor; mailed or delivered on the notarized Payroll Report form (email acceptance not stated); weekly, within one week of the last work day covered industrialaffairs.delaware.gov
  30. DelDOT Unifier Submittals, on federally funded projects (D8.02) constructionmanual.deldot.gov
  31. No public works prevailing wage law found in D.C. Code Title 32 code.dccouncil.gov
  32. D.C. Law 25-274 code.dccouncil.gov
  33. marked Not Funded code.dccouncil.gov
  34. DDOT payroll help pages; system not named daashto.ddot.dc.gov
  35. No, state law bars requiring it (Fla. Stat. 255.0992) flsenate.gov
  36. Federally assisted contracts over $2,000 only: no portal named; to the FDOT resident compliance specialist, weekly fdotblob.core.windows.net
  37. No, none found dol.georgia.gov
  38. On federal-aid highway contracts: an undated GDOT notice announces AASHTOWare Project CRLMS to replace its manual payroll process; live status not read dot.ga.gov
  39. Yes, HRS ch. 104 labor.hawaii.gov
  40. Over $2,000. Contracting agency (state or county); no state portal stated; weekly labor.hawaii.gov
  41. None named on HDOT pages hidot.hawaii.gov
  42. No, none found; 44-1001 is a residency rule legislature.idaho.gov
  43. No state law found in the Public Works chapter, so no state filing legislature.idaho.gov
  44. None named; certified copy of each weekly payroll on federal-aid work (2023 spec book) apps.itd.idaho.gov
  45. Yes, 820 ILCS 130 ilga.gov
  46. IDOL online portal labor.illinois.gov
  47. ; a State agency may opt to take payrolls directly and send them to IDOL within 10 days ilga.gov
  48. ; the IDOL FAQ says "If your contract mentions 'Davis-Bacon', you do not need to submit certified payroll to the department" labor.illinois.gov
  49. No, repealed 2015; IC 5-16-7.2-5 bars public agencies from requiring a wage scale unless federal or state law provides otherwise, and the chapter excludes INDOT contracts governed by IC 8-23-9 (5-16-7.2-1(b)) iga.in.gov
  50. No state filing under a statute; INDOT contracts require electronic payroll, weekly; an INDOT state-funded contract has a $20.00 hourly floor (spec 103.07(c)) in.gov
  51. IC 8-23-9-22 iga.in.gov
  52. CPMS in the ITAP portal (2019 memo) in.gov
  53. No, none found in the Iowa Code Title III chapter list (labor chapters 84A to 97) legis.iowa.gov
  54. Iowa DOT guidance for local-agency projects (Attachment D to I.M. 6.000, May 30, 2025): Form 830176 to the project engineer, or Doc Express; weekly when contract provisions state that a certified transcript of weekly payroll is required ia.iowadot.gov
  55. No, ch. 44 index lists none ksrevisor.gov
  56. None named; federal-aid contracts only: weekly under the FHWA-1273 clause kdotapp.ksdot.gov
  57. No, repealed 2017 apps.legislature.ky.gov
  58. No state filing; a KYTC memo dated May 2015, before the 2017 repeal, asked for state-funded payrolls only on request, and current practice was not read transportation.ky.gov
  59. No, repealed 1988 legis.la.gov
  60. AASHTOWare Project Civil Rights and Labor, on federally funded highway contracts dotd.la.gov
  61. Yes, 26 MRSA ch. 15 legislature.maine.gov
  62. A copy to the public authority that let the contract or to the State agency providing economic assistance to the assisted project; monthly per statute legislature.maine.gov
  63. ; DOL page (copyright 2016) says each payroll period maine.gov
  64. Elation Systems (federal-aid Davis-Bacon contracts) maine.gov
  65. Yes, State Fin. and Proc. 17-201 et seq. labor.maryland.gov
  66. $250,000 or more mgaleg.maryland.gov
  67. None named in the 2026 SHA specs roads.maryland.gov
  68. Yes, M.G.L. c. 149, ss. 26 to 27H malegislature.gov
  69. None stated in ss. 26 to 27B malegislature.gov
  70. Awarding authority, by first class mail or email; weekly certified records; signed statement within 15 days after its work is done malegislature.gov
  71. Yes, 2023 PA 10 (MCL 408.1101); includes energy facility projects legislature.mi.gov
  72. Online payroll database kept by the commissioner legislature.mi.gov
  73. 408.1102a took effect on Apr. 2, 2025 legislature.mi.gov
  74. LCPtracker (MDOT, federal-aid) mdotwiki.state.mi.us
  75. Yes, Minn. Stat. 177.41 to 177.44 revisor.mn.gov
  76. Contracting agency; labor dept. may demand copies dli.mn.gov
  77. AASHTOWare Project CRL (MnDOT) dot.state.mn.us
  78. No state filing found. FHWA-1273 (revised June 25, 2026): weekly to the contracting agency the contract names mdot.ms.gov
  79. MDOT proposal (Nov. 2025) mdot.ms.gov
  80. Yes, RSMo 290.210 to 290.340 revisor.mo.gov
  81. Contracting public body; no state portal found; monthly per state rule sos.mo.gov
  82. ; MoDOT: weekly epg.modot.org
  83. Yes, MCA 18-2-401 et seq. mca.legmt.gov
  84. After a wage complaint is filed, the labor dept. may require certified payroll copies, due within 5 days of its request; no routine filing stated mca.legmt.gov
  85. AASHTOWare Project CRL (MDT) mdt.mt.gov
  86. 73-102 nebraskalegislature.gov
  87. 73-103 nebraskalegislature.gov
  88. 73-104 nebraskalegislature.gov
  89. None named (undated NDOT page); federal-aid projects only: WH-347 emailed to the NDOT project manager within 7 days after payment, weekly dot.nebraska.gov
  90. Yes, NRS ch. 338 labor.nv.gov
  91. LCPtracker (NDOT) constructionkb.dot.nv.gov
  92. No, RSA ch. 280 repealed 1985 gc.nh.gov
  93. No state law or filing gc.nh.gov
  94. Yes, N.J.S.A. 34:11-56.25 et seq. nj.gov
  95. NJDOT bulletin BDC24S-20 (Jan. 28, 2025): weekly to the Resident Engineer, and on state-funded contracts also uploaded to NJ Wage Hub; on federal-aid contracts, Equal Pay Act information and (per Attachment 7) Form MW-562 reports go to NJ Wage Hub nj.gov
  96. Yes, NMSA 13-4-11 (HB 6, 2025) nmlegis.gov
  97. Contracting agency; labor dept. director within 10 business days of a request; monthly to the agency srca.nm.gov
  98. LCPtracker (NMDOT) dot.nm.gov
  99. Yes, Labor Law Art. 8 dol.ny.gov
  100. NYSDOT deck (undated): payrolls weekly or each pay period, on HC-231-1 or WH-347; no system named dot.ny.gov
  101. No, per NC Dept. of Labor labor.nc.gov
  102. AASHTOWare CRL being set up (2024 deck); live status not stated connect.ncdot.gov
  103. No, none found ndlegis.gov
  104. No state filing; NDDOT does not require weekly payrolls on state-funded-only contracts dot.nd.gov
  105. Yes, ORC ch. 4115 com.ohio.gov
  106. Commerce 2026 quick reference com.ohio.gov
  107. Payroll goes to the public authority's Prevailing Wage Coordinator, who obtains a certified payroll report from each contractor (2022 guide) agri.ohio.gov
  108. state portal page pwr.com.ohio.gov
  109. AASHTOWare Project CRL (ODOT) transportation.ohio.gov
  110. No, held unconstitutional 1995 oklegislature.gov
  111. No state law or filing oklahoma.gov
  112. None named; weekly to the ODOT Residency on most federal-aid contracts, received within two weeks of period end. Exempt: contracts with only Local Road or Rural Minor Collector projects (ODOT number with a D); one non-exempt project makes all need payroll (April 18, 2016 directive) odot.org
  113. Yes, ORS 279C.800 to 279C.870 oregonlegislature.gov
  114. Public agency on the project; no state portal stated; monthly, by the fifth business day of the next month oregon.gov
  115. None named for contractors; ODOT manual (July 2, 2025): to the Resident Engineer office. Doc Express and a Z03 Certified Payroll drawer appear only for the agency's wage estimating file oregon.gov
  116. Yes, Act 442 of 1961 legis.state.pa.us
  117. Over $25,000; local highway and bridge over $100,000 pa.gov
  118. Contracting public body; sworn statement; weekly, plus a final statement pacodeandbulletin.gov
  119. PennDOT Project Collaboration Center (PPCC), plus the forms to the District Executive within 7 days after the regular payment date (Pub. 408, 107.22(c)) pa.gov
  120. Yes, R.I. Gen. Laws ch. 37-13 webserver.rilegislature.gov
  121. Awarding authority on the labor dept. form, monthly; labor dept. within 10 days of a request webserver.rilegislature.gov
  122. ; one form per week of work, per the regulation web.archive.org
  123. No, none found scstatehouse.gov
  124. Federally funded contracts only: hard copy to the SCDOT resident engineer, weekly; no portal (April 2023 guide) scdot.org
  125. No, none in SDCL Title 5 sdlegislature.gov
  126. Title 60 sdlegislature.gov
  127. SDDOT highway construction contracts: $2,000 or more federal funds, or $100,000 or more state funds. SDDOT, online; weekly on covered highway contracts dot.sd.gov
  128. Partial, Tenn. Code 12-4-401 to 415 (state highway work only; 2014 agency copy) tn.gov
  129. Contracting state agency, which passes it to the Prevailing Wage Commission; weekly tn.gov
  130. AASHTOWare Project CRL (a TDOT page lists payrolls among its uses) tn.gov
  131. another TDOT page tn.gov
  132. LCPtracker, mandatory on TxDOT construction projects from the August 2017 letting; for maintenance or facilities contracts the undated FAQ answers "Not at this time" txdot.gov
  133. No, state law bars requiring it (34-30-14) le.utah.gov
  134. UDOT Certified Payroll System (UDOT contractor page) connect.udot.utah.gov
  135. Google Drive file drive.google.com
  136. Partial, 29 V.S.A. 161 (161(b) does not apply to Agency of Transportation or Forests, Parks and Recreation projects, 161(d)) web.archive.org
  137. VTrans checklist calls for weekly Davis-Bacon certified payrolls, due within 7 calendar days after the regular payment date, through Doc Express, CMS or email as the contract checks vtrans.vermont.gov
  138. Yes, Va. Code 2.2-4321.3 (state agencies; localities by ordinance; covered institutions, D) law.lis.virginia.gov
  139. No periodic payroll filing. To the Dept. of Labor and Industry, by email, fax or mail: the sworn pay scale once on award, and the posting certification within 10 days of posting doli.virginia.gov
  140. AASHTOWare Project CRL (VDOT), weekly, on federally assisted construction contracts vdot.virginia.gov
  141. Yes, ch. 39.12 RCW app.leg.wa.gov
  142. No minimum dollar amount for small projects lni.wa.gov
  143. L&I online system; at least monthly app.leg.wa.gov
  144. L&I PWIA (WSDOT specifications 1-07.9(5)): payrolls weekly on federal-aid projects, at least monthly on state-funded ones wsdot.wa.gov
  145. No, art. 21-5A repealed 2016 code.wvlegislature.gov
  146. No prevailing wage filing. Local-hire rule 21-1C-5(b), which still cites the repealed article 5A: certified payrolls or comparable documents to the Division of Labor code.wvlegislature.gov
  147. , projects of $500,000 or more without federal funds code.wvlegislature.gov
  148. None named; WVDOH posts Form WH-347 transportation.wv.gov
  149. No, repealed 2017 docs.legis.wisconsin.gov
  150. No state law or filing wisconsindot.gov
  151. CRCS (before the Jan. 14, 2025 letting) or AWP CRL; weekly wisconsindot.gov
  152. Yes, W.S. 27-4-401 to 413 wyoleg.gov
  153. WYDOT iCX Construction Management System dot.state.wy.us
  154. FAQ on federal projects labor.illinois.gov
  155. rate-request page portal.ct.gov
  156. 2017 NDOT specification book dot.nebraska.gov
  157. WSDOT wage rates page wsdot.wa.gov
  158. living wage requirement code.dccouncil.gov
  159. FHWA-1273 fhwa.dot.gov

Questions about your project

We prepare certified payroll for public works contractors. Tell us about your project.

Got it. If your filing is due sooner, call us at 1-858-834-8430, Monday to Friday, 7:00 to 5:00 Pacific.

Prefer the phone? Call 1-858-834-8430, Monday to Friday, 7:00 to 5:00 Pacific.

CallContact us